Tuesday, 22 May 2012

Juliet Immortal #1 Juliet Immortal

A new twist to the age old classic tragedy, one of Shakespeare's famous plays. Presenting Juliet Immortal #1 Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay.

Here is the summary of the book:

Fans of Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush will relish this intense paranormal love story featuring Romeo and Juliet, literary history's most tragic couple, who meet again, not as true lovers, but truly as enemies. The most tragic love story in history . . .Juliet Capulet didn't take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn't anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she's fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she's forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.

"These violent delights have violent ends
And in their triumph die, like fire and powder,
Which as they kiss consume."
—Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare


A new and twisted turn to the original Romeo & Juliet, so Juliet didn't really kill herself but was murdered by Romeo in his hunger for immortality. But Juliet was turned into an ambassador of love, jumping bodies every century and always thwarting Romeo's plan to preserve innocent lives and true love. After 700 years somehow things are changing...now Juliet meets someone she's forbidden to love....so what will Romeo do...and what are the Ambassadors and Mercenaries really....and why are both Romeo and Juliet's powers waning in this era...

This book had been sitting on tbr pile for such a long time so i thought why not give it a shot because I'm been hearing a lot of mixed reviews about this book and the fact that the next book is about to come out with that very hot cover, so I thought why not give it a try.....and it was so so for me. This is basically a twisted paranormal sequel of Shakespeare's famous romantic tragedy, Romeo & Juliet. And I never really liked that play, so it was a little hard for me to into. But got to say though Stacey Jay really did a great job on this.

The narrative is absolutely marvelous. Juliet is one spunky heroine, but she has some trust issues. Her romance with Ben was really sweet and Ariel's(whose body Juliet is occupying) best friend Gemma is for a lack of a better word, a train wreck. Gemma is one messed up girl, you never know what she is actually feel at the moment and Romeo is another story altogether...and he plays the role of a jealous guy perfectly. The author does a great job trying to incorporate the story of Romeo & Juliet in here but what I actually felt a little lacking in that aspect. The mythology while very much detailed was definitely not needed in here. The story would actually have been much better if the paranormal quota wasn't involved. But i'm willing to give it a chance and see how Romeo gets to redeem himself after being left as a rotting corpse.

"If you are a fan of Romeo & Juliet, then this is your book - a twisted paranormal sequel of Shakespeare's famous romantic tragedy, Romeo & Juliet"


Genre :      Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Fantasy


Publisher: Random House Children's Book


Rate:              3/5 (Liked It)

2 comments:

  1. I've never really stopped and tried to read the synopsis of this book but it sounds great! More than great actually. It sounds awesome :) Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've seen a lot of mixed reviews for this one, so I still don't really know how to feel about it. Great review!

    ReplyDelete